Well I did it! And a few other things

IMG_0999Yeah, I did it, I let the local garden club know that I would be willing to be on the garden tour in June. Whether they accept my offer or not is still up in the air. If they do………oh man!

WHAT WAS I THINKING!!

There is so much that needs to be done! YIkes!

In the meantime I took the camera out the other day and played with taking pictures, I don’t have many blooms right now, and all my beds are needing a good amount of work. So I tried to make the best of the individual flowers.

IMG_0991IMG_0997 IMG_0996 IMG_0995 IMG_1001 IMG_0994 IMG_0992

These are a few close ups of the tulips currently blooming, a few years ago I invested in a large quantity of them, and they looked wonderful in year one. Year two not as awesome but still great, and now each year fewer and fewer blooms show up. I guess it must be a case of a plant not thriving in zone 3b. I am sure I have names for all of these, if you want them, let me know and I will dig through my not so organized records and see if I can figure it out.

IMG_0998

My memorial day peony is getting ready to bloom! I received this plant about 20 years ago as a gift from an elderly neighbor. In her yard it was in a spot destined to be dug up for some utility maintenance.  She passed away a few years ago, but every spring when this blooms I think of her! The official name of this is “Fern leafed Peony” and I have since learned that at nursery pots of these sell for $40!

Don’t be afraid to get your hands dirty!

Jenny P

2 thoughts on “Well I did it! And a few other things

Leave a Reply

